emilysfiftyniftystates

My adventures as I learn about the 50 States!

Pennsylvania: Crayon Making

on September 7, 2012

I learned that Crayola Crayons are made in Pennsylvania. I also learned that Fred Rogers, better known as Mr. Rogers from Mr. Rogers Neighborhood was from Pennsylvania.

I read several books about how Crayons are made including From Wax to Crayon and How Crayons are Made and books about Fred Rogers, then I watched a video Mr. Rogers Neighborhood: How Crayons are Made. After learning about crayons, we made our own crayons with the Crayola Crayon Maker.

crayonmaker

In order to make a crayon, first wax is melted, then it is poured into a mold, then it hardens, it is removed from the mold and wrapped. Crayola then has workers box the wrapped crayons for children.

I think Crayola Crayons are my favorite thing from Pennsylvania.


Leave a comment