emilysfiftyniftystates

My adventures as I learn about the 50 States!

Vermont: State Fruit… the Apple

on September 21, 2011

The state fruit for Vermont is the apple! This weekend, my family went apple picking and we picked 49lbs of apples. We then used the apples to make apple sauce, apple stuffed pork chops, apple crisp, and other yummy treats! This is the story of our apple picking adventure:

On Saturday, our family went to St. Joseph, Missouri to pick apples at Schweizer Orchards (5455 SE State Route Ff, St. Joseph, MO. 816.232.3999). It was very easy to pick apples! The trees are short so my sisters and I could even reach without a stool. We picked golden delicious and fuji apples. We also enjoyed playing on the playground that looks like a big wooden train.

The next day, we worked together as a family to make crockpot applesauce! My job was peeling the apples with our special apple peeling machine. Then, mom and dad put the apples in the crockpot with 1 c. water, 1 c. apple juice (can use water only), 1/2 c. sugar, lemon juice, and cinnamon and apple pie spice to taste.  We stirred the pot several times during the day and tasted the sauce to make sure it was delicious.  We froze some of the applesauce, we gave some of it away, and we enjoyed some this week!

I loved picking apples and I really enjoyed peeling the apples. It is great to help my family prepare food for all of us to eat.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Leave a comment