emilysfiftyniftystates

My adventures as I learn about the 50 States!

The New York Menu

on January 23, 2012

New York is famous for many foods so we enjoyed several NY themed meals. I cooked some New York foods and we ate others at restaurants.

New York Breakfast: Bagels

Bagels are one of the most famous foods in New York. I love bagels and cream cheese for breakfast… plain bagels, blueberry (my favorite), cinnamon and raisin, they’re all delicious! We ate bagels for breakfast several times this month and even enjoyed mini bagels with our Buffalo Wing Dinner! Yes, we know that New Yorkers don’t usually eat bagels and wings, we just did that for fun. I recommend toasted bagels with strawberry cream cheese for breakfast, they are the BEST!

New York Pizza: d’Bronx

d’Bronx Pizza in Kansas City is an authentic New York Style pizzeria & delicatessen founded by native New Yorkers. I love to go to d’Bronx! We watch the pizza chefs throw the dough in the air to make a thin crust “pizza pie.” I think it’s great fun to watch the dough flip in the air. You know it is New York Style if the crust is thin and hand-tossed and the slices are large and wide so you can fold them in half. At d’Bronx, be sure to ask for “kid dough” – a little pizza dough to play with (like play dough) before you eat. My dad loves their pastrami sandwiches. I tasted his sandwich and I didn’t really like it, but Mom loves pastrami sandwiches too. The pizza, on the other hand, was GREAT! I definitely recommend d’Bronx as one of our favorite places to eat as a family – kids LOVE it!

New York Dinner: Buffalo Wings

There are many stories about the creation of Buffalo Wings. Don’t get confused by the name – of course you know buffalo do not have wings. Buffalo Wings are fried chicken wings coated in special sauce and the recipe was invented in Buffalo, New York. We made buffalo wings as a family (I mostly watched because frying buffalo wings is dangerous) and we coated them with Frank & Teresa’s Original Anchor Bar Buffalo Wing Sauce. We followed the instructions on the bottle. They were too spicy for me, but I liked the teriyaki flavored wings we also made. Mom loved them… she likes spicy foods. The rest of my family thought they were too spicy. According to the Anchor Bar website, they are THE original location of Buffalo Wings.

New York Dessert: Cheesecake

Our Raspberry Cheesecake... before we put it in the oven

My mom and sisters and I made a cheesecake together. We decorated it with hearts using raspberry drizzle. Mom made giant dots of raspberry sauce with a syringe on the cheesecake, then pulled a toothpick through the dots to make hearts. The cheesecake wasn’t just pretty…. it was delicious!

According to The Joy of Baking, “New York Cheesecakes are creamy, and smooth, and rich, and dense, and absolutely delicious. This cheesecake has three layers, starting with a graham cracker crumb crust that is topped with a cream cheese filling, and then a layer of lightly sweetened sour cream. John Mariani tells us in his The Dictionary of American Food & Drink that Americans have come to know cheesecakes made with cream cheese as ‘New York’ or ‘Jewish’ Cheesecakes, and ones made with ricotta as ‘Italian’ Cheesecakes, with both types having their roots in immigrant New York City neighborhoods.”

The New York style cheesecake was my FAVORITE New York Food of all! But, I still like bagels too!


Leave a comment