emilysfiftyniftystates

My adventures as I learn about the 50 States!

New Jersey: The Garden State

on April 26, 2012

New Jersey is the Garden State. My family enjoys visiting our local Botanical Gardens, and lately I have been learning about plants. In New Jersey, they grow a lot of tomatoes, strawberries and other fruits and vegetables.

This week, we went strawberry picking! My mom, my sisters, my friends, and I picked 20 lbs of fresh strawberries at Wohletz Strawberry Patch. Strawberry plants are low to the ground. To find the best berries, lift up the leaves to discover lots of red juicy strawberries.

After strawberry picking, we took our berries home where we made Smoothies and Strawberry Shortcake. I love to eat sliced strawberries on my cereal!

Strawberry Picking Tips:

  • Pick red berries, not green… they are still growing.
  • Pinch the berries gently at the stem so you don’t squish the fruit.
  • Put them gently in your bucket.
  • Wear clothes that are okay for picking berries… sometimes the red juice squirts out and stains!
  • Wear comfortable shoes.
  • Bring baby wipes for sticky fingers.
  • Rinse them gently at home.
  • Eat them with everything! Especially cereal! I LOVE strawberries… they are delicious, juicy, and sooooo good!
  • My mom wrote about our experience and she shared favorite Strawberry Recipes on her blog.

Emily picking Strawberries

Our Delicious Strawberry Shortcake


Leave a comment