emilysfiftyniftystates

My adventures as I learn about the 50 States!

Maine in the Morning: America’s 1st Sunrise!

on August 26, 2011

This week, I am learning about Maine.

The most interesting thing I learned so far is that Maine is the first place in the United States (mainland) to experience a sunrise each day! The easternmost point of the United States mainland is Sail Rock, just offshore of West Quoddy Head LightHouse, Maine. This week, I woke up early one day and mom and I went and saw the sunrise. The most amazing thing about the sunrise is how colorful it is! The sun is bright orange and beautiful. I hope you get to see a sunrise someday too! It is beautiful!

Sunrise at Sail Rock, just offshore of West Quoddy Head LightHouse, Maine.
Today, we read the book, One Morning in Maine, by Robert McCloskey. Roberty McCloskey wrote many children’s books I enjoy.  In this story, a girl named Sal lost her tooth while she was digging for clams with her father. I have never been on a clam dig and I’m still waiting to lose my first tooth, but I will be making clam chowder this week! In the book, Sal met many animals from Maine including the seal, loon, and a seagull. I loved the beautiful illustrations in this book.
One Morning in Maine, by Robert McCloskey

One Morning in Maine, by Robert McCloskey

 After reading, I worked on an art project to create a Sunrise in Maine. First, we looked at pictures of sunrises in Maine on the computer. Then, I took a white piece of paper and drew a lighthouse, the ocean, and the sun with crayons and many beautiful colors. Next, I used watercolors to paint the sunrise over the drawings. I was so happy with the picture when it was done.
Maine Sunrise

This is the photo I used for inspiration for my artwork.

“From the rising of the sun to the place where it sets, the name of the LORD is to be praised.” ~ Psalm 113: 3
Sunrise in Maine by Emily Ann Light

Sunrise in Maine by Emily Ann Light: August 26, 2011

And I have one question… my next project for Maine is preparing dinner for my family. Can you answer this poll about Maine’s foods? I’d like to know about your favorites:

Leave a comment