emilysfiftyniftystates

My adventures as I learn about the 50 States!

Connecticut: LEGO Capital of the United States

on April 29, 2012

Connecticut is the LEGO Capital of the United States. The LEGOLand Discovery Center opened in Kansas City in April. My family was invited to a sneak preview of LEGOLAND! My Uncle Jeff was even able to come with us. I had a lot of fun!

At LEGOLAND we toured the Mini Factory where we learned how LEGOs are made. First the colors are mixed, then they are melted and poured into molds where LEGOs are formed. I was given a souvenir LEGO to take home!

I also rode the Kingdom Quest ride to rescue a LEGO princess. Then, we watched a LEGO movie in 4D. 4D means you see it in 3D with special glasses, and then effects are added so you feel the movie too! I felt wind blowing when it was windy, rain coming down, bubbles, and more. This was my FAVORITE thing.

At LEGOLAND they created a miniature version of Kansas City entirely from LEGOs! It is called MiniLand and I thought it was really cool to see our Baseball Stadium, Sprint Center, Union Station, Plaza, and other local landmarks. The fountains in MiniLand even work! It was terrific!

We also built with LEGOs. We made race cars and raced them, we built buildings to see if they could withstand an earthquake, and we played with giant LEGOs too.

These are some photos of our day:

Visiting LEGOLAND Discovery Center with my Family

Visiting LEGOLAND Discovery Center with my Family

Riding Kingdom Quest with Dad & Uncle Jeff

Riding Kingdom Quest with Dad & Uncle Jeff

Union Station made out of LEGOs

Union Station made out of LEGOs

Kauffman Stadium made out of LEGOs

Kauffman Stadium made out of LEGOs


Leave a comment