emilysfiftyniftystates

My adventures as I learn about the 50 States!

Royals vs. NY Yankees: My Day as Slugger’s Helper at the Baseball Game

on May 8, 2012

Cooperstown NY is home to the Baseball Hall of Fame, a museum honoring great baseball players, and some people think it is where baseball was invented. New York is known for baseball and many famous baseball players are from New York: Lou Gehrig, Joe DiMaggio, Mickey Mantle, Willie Mays, Babe Ruth, and many more.

Last Sunday, the New York Yankees came to town to play the Kansas City Royals. We played against them for 4 games… we won 2 games, they won 2 games. On Sunday, May 6, I won a drawing at our local toy store to be Slugger’s Helper (Slugger is the Kansas City Royals mascot).

My family went to the Royals game, we brought Grandma & Grandpa too (Grandpa’s birthday was also that weekend).

Daddy took me to meet the Royals employee, a nice lady took me to a spot where I was waiting for Slugger. She asked me if I wanted to meet the Yankees, I told her I cheer for the Royals, not the Yankees. Then, Slugger came out and I met him.

Slugger took me out on the baseball field and the announcer introduced me to the crowd with my picture and name on the big screen. We did a bunch of High Five’s and cheered for the Royals. You may watch a Video of my experience as Slugger’s Little Helper here.

Then, I watched the game with my family. We ate peanuts (you always eat peanuts at Baseball Games… it’s even in the song). Then, we had snacks, we cheered for the Royals, and we went to the Kid Section where I rode the Merry-Go-Round- I chose Slugger!

I love going to Baseball Games with my family and it was especially fun to be on the field with Slugger!


Leave a comment